top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Wilson

Easy Door Decor: Temporary Wallpaper



I totally wrote that title with SEO in mind and I feel icky about it. Because my title writing style is definitely more witty and whimsical than practical but from what I’ve read, the type of word play that works in print falls on deaf eyeballs online. So by being so upfront and clear about the subject of this post, I’m increasing the chances anyone sees it so it’s not icky. It’s just not witty, it’s straightforward and obvious Read: boring, which the subject of this post most certainly is not.


This wallpapered door is anything but boring.


A great wallpaper is kinda like a rug gone vertical: really ties the room together.

How fun is this door? I had painted the door frame neon yellow a month or two ago after I read somewhere (Architectural Digest I want to say) that painting door frames was an easy renter-friendly way to add pops of color to a room, and I was sold at “pops of color.” I used whatever acrylic paint I had around, and got two coats of paint up in less than 30 minutes. Minimal effort, and the result kinda matched it. Before I hung this wallpaper, it was barely noticeable amid the chaos that surrounds it. But look at it now—added some more chaos to the mix and now it really shines.

Goes to show that more is definitely more and less is a bore, to quote the legendary Iris Apfel (this painting of the fashion icon with the apropos background is by Le Paolette and available on Society6) is by Who is the embodiment of the sentiment.

I got the Guvana blue and white geometric peel-and-stick temporary wallpaper/shelf adhesive with a scallop pattern from Amazon during Black Friday / Cyber Week deals for $14 (179”x17.7”) (those smart quotation marks should actually be double prime symbols indicating “inches)...which apparently wasn’t a deal price because that’s what it’s listed for now, a month later.

[Note to self: sign up for the Amazon Affiliate program if you want even the possibility of generating passive income. Also/related: Does Ross have an affiliate program? Look into it.]


Super cute, right?


Hanging it was super easy, took like 20 minutes when I did it in the wee hours of the night when normal people were sleeping, and if I were the type of human who got some rest, I probably could have shaved five minutes off the time.

ADHD Interlude

But sleep is so boring, such a waste of time (until it’s not) so I try to only do it every other night. And on the nights in between, I get to deep-dive into all sorts of creative projects. After midnight when the world goes quiet and motivations stop flooding in vying for my attention: that’s when the good work happens. That’s when I write, when I read, that’s when I paint, that’s when I rearrange furniture and hang wallpaper and decide to paint door frames. The middle of the night is my favorite time of day.

So that’s when I covered this door with a fantastic pattern. It really ties the gallery wall together. I’m pretty obsessed with how it turned out, and I’ve got a bunch left that I need to decide what to do with.

Back to the Topic at Hand


Three options under consideration for the temporary home of the wallpaper I have left:


  1. Cover the lower three feet of the wall in my office and hang white board wallpaper above it. Which was the leading idea before I covered the door to the office. while I still like the idea of a half-patterned, half-functional wall in here, I don’t think I’d enjoy having the same pattern on the door and on the wall beyond it.

  2. Hang it on column in the middle of the living room where the walls meet in a point: that would look cool.

  3. Swap out the wallpaper on the bedroom door for the same pattern, and then cover the bathroom door in the main room as well.

  4. Thought if this one while typing out the others: Fill in the spot on the wall in the bedroom bath that resulted from not buying enough of the jellyfish fabric last month. This is now the leading idea, especially because it solves a problem that I created by not bothering to think of what exactly I would be covering with fabric before I went to Joann last month and bought a bunch. I’m nothing if not impulsive.


So let’s pretend I go with option 4: I may still want to swap out the pattern on the bedroom door, because the one I have on there now is kinda boring. It doesn’t pop, which was kinda fine before I added this new one that REALLY pops to the door opposite it. See what I mean?


and then I’ll need to wallpaper the other door off the main room, the one to the bathroom thats half-covered in flamingo wallpaper. I finally purchased more so I can finish that room up and I’m wondering how it would look with flamingo wallpaper on the outside as well as in. Might be too much—only one way to find out. And if/when I inevitably do, I’ll share some pictures of the process.

In the meantime, here are some more photos of the latest project.





4) which I just thought of

313 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page